Jarlsberg® has always been lactose-free, we just haven't mentioned it before. For anyone who drinks little milk, it can be difficult to get enough important nutrients. Many people who are lactose-intolerant have not been aware that they can eat cheese. For them, cheese can be a valuable source of iodine and calcium. 

What makes Jarlsberg® naturally lactose-free?

When cheese is made, the whey is separated from the milk, so we are left with what is called curd. Since most of the lactose follows the whey, little is left in the curd.

During the ripening process, the small amount of lactose that remains is eaten by lactic acid bacteria. These bacteria are added to give the cheese its distinctive taste and consistency.

The lactic acid bacteria produce enzymes that are involved in cheese ripening. In a fully matured cheese, there is therefore no lactose left at all, just lots of great taste.